Grand Chapter History

A Brief History of the Triple X Fraternity

The Triple X Fraternity was formed in 1918 by a group of young Armenian students at Fresno High School. They were tired of being repeatedly restricted from participating in various school clubs simply because they were Armenians. As a result, they determined to organize their own fraternity of brothers and called themselves the Triple X. They chose the Roman numerals for 30 (XXX) to both name their group and to set a visible goal for recruitment purposes. Thus, the Triple X Fraternity was established.

In 1928, both the Los Angeles and Golden Gate (San Francisco) Chapters were founded. This created the need for a Grand Chapter, which was formed in April of 1928. The Selma Chapter was formed soon after in 1933. In the years since, the Oakland, Peninsula, Capitol, Sequoia, San Diego, Mt. Diablo, Orange County, Las Vegas, and Palm Desert Chapters have been formed.

The organization’s Founding Fathers were Arsen Alchian, Gurken Bacon, Lee Dederian, Richard Dederian, John Kasparian, Armen Nishkian, Lee Rustigan, and Charles Ashjian who also served as the first Grand Master.

While no longer a school fraternity, our “TREX” brothers maintain a strong, fraternal spirit and bond. The fraternity is not now – nor ever was – a religious or political organization. Our common tie is that we share a proud Armenian heritage. It is our purpose and objective to promote charity, benevolence, mental improvement, and social culture, and to strengthen the bonds of friendship, as well as to observe and adhere to the principles of truth, justice, and loyalty.

Over nearly 100 years of existence, our members have generously donated to worthwhile charities, have funded scholarship programs, and have provided invaluable service to our local communities.

Past Grand Masters

Charles Ashjian 1929
D. K. Tateosian 1930-31
Kay B. Paul 1931-32
Dr. J. V. Shahbazian 1932-34
Mardie J. Bakjian 1934-35
Harry Hairabedian 1935
Sooren Toomajian 1935-36
Paul Bozajian 1936
Ara F. Normart 1936-38
Haig Hovey 1939
Henry Zakian 1939-40
Lousander A. Markarian 1940-41
Lee Krikorian 1941-46
Michael Sohigian 1946-48
Andy Sarkisian 1948-49
Charles Haron 1949-50
Albert Nalbandian 1950-51
Andy Bakjian 1951-52
Mose Hachigan 1952-53
Vaughn Poochigian 1953-54
Fred Markarian 1954-55
Edward Arslan 1955-56
Heront Julian 1956-57
Ralph Boghosian 1957-58
Jack Kazanjian 1958-59
John Simonian 1959-60
Joe Hagopian 1960-61
Herb Elmassian 1961-62
Soren Shamshoian 1962-63
Haig Kayajanian 1963-64
Joe C. Kellejian 1964-65
John Barigian 1965-66
James Taylor 1966-67
Charles Chitchjian 1967-68
Mose Ametjian 1968-69
Ray Hovey 1969-70
Sam Kassabian 1970-71
Aaron Aaronian 1971-72
Kay Cloud 1972-73
Joe Zorigian 1973-74
Sarkis Sarkisian 1974-75
Dick Ekizian 1975-76
Michael Kershaw 1976-77
Ed Sarouhan 1977-78
Joe Garabedian 1978-79
Charles Hazarian 1979-80
Z. Harry Astor 1980-81
Aram Poladian 1981-82
Joe G. Kellejian 1982-83
Haig Kasparian 1983-84
Sam Krikorian 1984-85
Robert Alchian 1985-86
Haig Jamgotchian 1986-87
Mike Chakalozian 1987-88
Abby Mamigonian 1988-89
Alan Khaoonian 1989-90
George Solakian 1990-91
Shavarsh Hazarabedian 1991-92
Greg Avedesian 1992-93
Jack Bedrosian 1993-94
Ed Hokokian 1994-95
Mooney Najarian 1995-96
Jack Ouzounian 1996-97
Bob Juskalian 1997-98
David G. Maseredjian 1998-99
Jeff Hazarian 1999-2000
Archie Cholakian 2000-01
Charles Paskerian 2001-02
Charles Parigian 2002-03
Frank Korkmazian 2003-04
Jerry Poochigian 2004-05
Pete Cholakian 2005-06
Peter Babagian 2006-07
Mel Shanoian 2007-08
Nick Nigosian Jr. 2008-09
Jack Bedoian 2009-10
Harold Bazarian 2010-11
Vaughn Vartanian 2011-12
Garo Mirigian 2012-13
Sam Bagdasarian 2013-14
Ron Shanoian 2014-15
John Casparian 2015-16
Greg Safoyan 2016-17
Gregg Chorbajian 2017-18
Steven Bedoian 2018-19
Jack Kayajanian 2019-20
Chuck Simonian 2020-21
Richard Jebejian 2021-22